Dawn of Rebellion

Just to start I want to say I’m sooooo sorry this blog has been inactive for this long, I never planned to neglect it for so long but other stuff piled up and you know so onto the review… 

description

Dawn of Rebellion by Michelle Lynn

I got an ARC copy from the author in exchange for an honest review, and just a warning I have slight references towards some of the plot.

Wow, just wow.

When I was about to read this book, I thought it was going to be some historical book based in Africe or something, all patriotic, let’s free slaves, black people need rights, droughts all over the continent, but really, I couldn’t have been more wrong.
This book follows the story of three people, Gabby, Dawn and Drew (switches from their POV’s) as they go on a journey realizing the corruption of the world they live in and basically how the government are dictating everything.

To be honest, I don’t like Dawn, didn’t straight from when she was first mentioned. To me, she seems like she’s one of those characters that like a Eragon-Roran-situation. What is that I hear you ask? Basically it’s when a non-main character/less important character or a sibling suddenly decides they’re going to completely take over the plot. No. First you steal Gabby’s boyfriend you will not steal her awesomeness and leadership!

And Drew…. Okay, you’re a guy, you can have conflicted feelings, but setting up a love triangle? Really? Really?? The two of you can go ahead and do that to Gabby, it’s not like she’s been living in a slave camp with the only thing giving her hope was that you guys were safe! Those two people, just, I’m just not going to say anything else.

description

See, even Obama’s walking away. The way they claim they’re doing all this for Gabby, but are they? Are they really? Perhaps it started out that way but then they just forgot all about her and decided they’d go and fall in love. Believe it or not, you can stop yourselves falling in love, I mean you guys hated each other, if you’d kept focused on what you went to do then there wouldn’t have been time for feelings.
Drew, yes I understand you’re basically the school player, you were having an affair when you were with Gabby so you decided to go for innocent Dawn instead! I’m not letting go of this! Wow… I’m type shouting at a fictional character… Ah well, that how avid readers get, or maybe it’s just me, but I doubt that. :3

Then Gabby. You’ve got to feel sorry for her? All she wanted to do was get her sister a nice birthday present, is it her fault they’re practically homeless? Though technically we should blame Drew, if they hadn’t been official his father probably wouldn’t have hated Gabby as much and she wouldn’t have been in the colonies… And then in the hotbox… And then a slave… And then tried to escape… And get put in that hotbox.. Again… Yup, it’s all on him.

description

But in all honesty, I love Gabby, and the sense of will you get from her. Michelle Lynn has a big check when it comes to the character development side of the story. You really get a sense of who all the characters are, their personalities, their reasons behind why they do everything. And who can’t love Gabby’s fiery spirit?

This review is getting long but how can I not bring up a certain father?

description

That’s really how you want to do things, poor Gabby, I don’t want to say much on it but I feel it’s realistic. After all, a story can’t be complete without the crappy parent can it?

So finally I’m onto the end, as in the last couple pages! TEXAS! Yes guys, there’s hot Texan people, at least I imagine the one who said the following quote to have been pretty damn fine:

“Welcome to the republic of Texas ma’am.”

Yup, that’s how my mind works, nothing but hot guys and books on ma mind! Haha. But no, Drew and Dawn… Screw them, Gabby gets to run off with Texan’s! (It is Texan’s right? Never mind that’s what I’m calling them, at least they’re out of Floridaland.)
I’d really been hoping they’d get split up somehow, and isn;t it awesome that a whole unit of British soldiers were after her! (The Texas people seemed pretty suspicious of that but they were probably impressed too, yup, they seemed impressed) Okay I know that shouldn’t be cool but I have a weird sense of priorities, adventure and drama taking top space, not sensibility, practicality, sense of danger, pfft, never heard of the words.

That’s it guys, I’m out, I cannot write any more. Except for what I’m writing now…. 4 stars losing one for Drew and Dawn because I have no sympathy for them. This book immediately grips you, though it’s a little slow in the middle adventure is a constant throughout the book, so if you’re a fan of that you’ll love this book. Would definitely recommend!

Leave a Reply

