The boy in the striped pyjamas…

At the moment in school we’re reading The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas. Now I’m sure many of you have heard of this book, along with Anne Frank and Schindler’s list, it’s one of the main books/films we think of the are based in one of the ‘great wars’.

Here’s a little about the book:

First published in 2006, it’s a 216 page novel. It is now a major motion picture.

This story is told from Bruno’s POV (point of view), a 9 year old German boy who’s father is a ‘man that’ll go far’, that is one of the ‘top people’ in charge of the Auschwitz concentration camp.

Now, I’ve watched the film (yes, one of the saddest films I’ve watched, but Anna Karenina [the book {though I didn’t finish the book, it was too long} and the film] took to gold for the saddest). Did I confuse you with all my brackets? I hope not.

The question I have today for you to think about is this: What do you think of war time books? Especially ones like Rose Blanche and this which are told from a child’s perspective. What do you think of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas?

Personally I don’t like it, the story line itself is fine but the way he’s been written to think is definitely not how I’d imagine a 9 year old to speak and think, I don’t think I’ve ever year someone so young use the words ‘appallingly’ and ‘most unfortunately’ etc. And in my opinion it doesn’t…. Flow.

Leave a Reply

