My review of Eragon by Christopher Paolini:

Eragon is one of my all time favorite books, and part of one of the best fantasy series’ I’ve read! I finished it a few weeks ago and still remember nearly every detail, that’s the mark of a good book.

I remember attempting it before but I couldn’t really get into it, recently I picked it off my shelf again, one of the best decisions I’ve made in a long time!

I’d never heard of Christopher Paolini before but he’s a very good author, his writing will captivate you from the first word right up until the end, he makes you feel like you’re at the heart of the story. Any Lord of the Rings fans will love this book, they are similar yet completely different.

For those of you who haven’t read the book: Eragon, a farmer’s boy has lived all his life thinking he would grow up, become a farmer and live out his days like that. All that changed when one day he brought home a blue polished rock from the Spine, but it’s not a rock, it’s a dragon egg! Overnight his world has changed from simple citizen of the Empire to an enemy with a big bounty on his head. Can he defeat the evil that surrounds him, the Ra’zac that killed the people close to him?

Eragon seriously kicks ass, if I was in the Spine and suddenly there’s this explosion and a blue rock appears I’m not sure how many of us would have gone and picked up that stone, actually I’m not sure how many of us would have gone to the Spine at all! And then he goes trying to sell it to Sloan (he’s horrible that Sloan!). who just sends him away.

I’m really not going to say much about what actually happens because I’d hate to ruin the plot for you all, I know how much I’d hate it if someone told me everything, even though this is one of my shorter reviews, to stop myself giving you all spoilers I’m going to finish the review.

Overall, the book was great. The author was only a teen when he wrote this, and it’s great work. Don’t watch the film it misses out everything and totally contradicts the book! Now all you fantasy lovers go forth and buy this book! You won’t regret it! 

5/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

